Posted in Uncategorized

A Few of My Favorite Things: Skincare Edition

13162480_10205790271145265_1007871079_n

I used to be so obsessed with skincare. Ironically, I had bad skin. That’s why I think I was obsessed with it. I was always looking for the next best thing and my mom used to call me the “queen of products”. In a way, I was. There wasn’t a brand I hadn’t tried, drug-store or high end. In hindsight, maybe that’s why my skin was always horrible; I put too many things on my face and didn’t wait long enough for the products to work.  That being said, I am relieved to have found some excellent products that have worked for me. I have sensitive, acne-prone, combination skin and these are products that have done such magic that I have not thought once about introducing a new item (okay, maybe the GLAMGLOW sampler).

Kate Somerville Daily Detox Cleanser This cleanser is extremely gentle on the skin. So gentle, it can be used AM and PM. I haven’t been able to say that about any acne-fighting cleanser. Ever.  After you use it, your skin feels radiant, smooth, and nourished rather than stripped, dry, and red.  This cleanser is specifically for people with moderate acne who want a preventative cleanser that is gentle on the skin. I also loved that this cleanser smelled like orange soda. Seriously, try it and let me know I’m not crazy.  Select Sephora stores and katesomerville.com, $34.

Kate Somerville Oil Free Moisturizer: I love how simple this moisturizer is.  It is oil free and for acne-prone skin. There’s not much to it other than that. This moisturizer is not heavy, distributes well, and does not make skin look greasy.  The pump design is awesomely convenient.  This moisturizer pairs well with the detox cleanser by restoring hydration. It has no fragrance and truly caters to acne sufferers.  Select Sephora stores and katesomerville.com, $65.

Origins Oil-Free High-Potency Night A Mins: Origins did good creating an oil-free options to accompany the regular Night A Min cream.  I, of course, opted for the oil-free cream and love how moisturizing it is.  It does feel heavier on the skin than my Kate Somerville moisturizer but the difference is day and night. Night creams are supposed to feel heavier and provide more intense hydration. If I had a dry spot on my face, my Night A Min cream will clear it by morning. I love how you only need a tiny bit to be effective as well. This cream is bound to give you a glow and help your skin bounce back. Literally. Sephora, $43.

CeraVe Foaming Facial CleanserMy skin isn’t immune to random irritation.  When irritation occurs, I want to use a simple and fragrance free cleanser on my face.  I always use CeraVe if I want my skin to bring back the lumunious glow and repair the skin barrier.  Additionally, Cerave was a staple in helping my skin recover from overuse of my Clarisonic (a story for another day).  While there are similarities between Cetaphil and CeraVe, I find CeraVe to be less irritating and more effective.  My skin feels squeaky clean but not stripped post use.  This cleanser gets rid of oil and make-up.   Walmart, $8.96.

Origins Ginzing Face Mask:  After you apply this mask, you are 10 minutes away from looking refreshed and energized.  This mask leaves your skin looking awake and you less like a zombie. I love how simple it is to use; just spread the gel across your face, wait 10 minutes, and wipe off remaining gel with a damp cotton pad. I love throwing this cool mask on before work while I am doing my hair.  I use it as many times as necessary on mornings when I need that extra boost. Sephora, $26.

Murad Clarifying Mask: This mask pretty much saved my life before my wedding. That is not an exaggeration. A disastrous threading session caused a face wide breakout and this mask helped calm my skin (and me). The sulfur content is 4% which is enough to be effective but not enough to be drying. The mask is respectful of busy schedules, needing only 10 minutes to do magic.  After I am done with the mask, my pimples are significantly flatter and my pores are a bit less visible.  Using a sulfur mask on blackheads is effective and this mask is gentle enough to not cause dreaded nose dryness. Sometimes Murad’s skincare line is notorious for being harsh but the clarifying mask was the perfect balance for me. Sephora, $38.

 

 

Author:

Rupa is a certified personal trainer. She is also a graduate of Rhodes College. Rupa currently resides in Nashville, TN.

Leave a Reply

